Recovery

Last week was horrible and I really do mean horrible. The flu hit our house.  The flu is never pretty and boy if can really make you hurt.

Two Saturday’s ago I woke up in the morning before skiing in pain and felt so sick to my stomach that I couldn’t get out of bed.  I insisted that Ty take the boys skiing without me with no further discussion offered.  He was less than pleased with me but I felt like hell.  The boys ended up staying home and after some much needed rest I felt fine.

It was the long weekend here in Ontario known as Family Day and the rest of the weekend went very well.  We had some extra time with our boys which we don’t normally get.

I woke up in the middle of the night at 3 or 4 am to the sound of Ty retching and I immediately though he had food poisoning because the last long weekend we had (New Year’s) he got sick – really sick.  This time it ended up being the flu and not food poisoning and he took Tuesday off work to recover.

Tuesday while at work, I felt horrible because I couldn’t stay home and help him but he needed his rest and to not be bugged by a pregnant woman who wants to get all of these big projects done before the baby arrives. Not to mention that this pregnant woman didn’t want to experience the flu herself.

Wednesday morning as I was getting dressed for work Ty started yelling that there was an emergency and that I needed to come quick.  He was in the garage yelling at me from across the house.  I was annoyed because I was running late and I didn’t have time to deal with ANY emergency.  Turned out that we didn’t shut the water off in the garage before winter and the pipes in the sink burst. FRIG!  Despite him being in immense pain from the aching body he managed to turn the water off and stop the spray but there was a bunch of his stuff packed on that side of the garage of his from when he moved in.  I hope nothing is ruined but we do need to go through it.

Remember how I didn’t want to get Ty’s flu from Tuesday?  Mother Nature, on the other hand, had other plans for me.  I got it Thursday evening around dinner time.

When I got home Thursday night I was searching the whole house for passport photos because I put them somewhere “safe” so we wouldn’t lose them.  Yup! We’ve all done that.  Since I am pregnant and I forget how to tie my hair back, I told Ty where I put them.  He acknowledged me but I guess either a) wasn’t listening – typical man or b) forgot.

After a few hours of searching I started to feel weak and needed to lay down for a few minutes on the couch.  I thought I was having a low blood sugar episode so I asked Marcus to grab my meter for me to check.  Remember, I don’t have diabetes but the average normal non diabetic person can have an hypoglycemic episode. I cleaned my hand with an alcohol swab and the smell hit me like a ton of bricks. I knew I wasn’t low.  I checked my sugar level anyway and I was 4.6 mmol/l (82.8) which is in perfect range.

Ty insisted that I eat something anyway and made me dinner.  I took one bite and knew I was going to be sick but little did I know that I had the flu and it wasn’t just stress from not being able to remember where I put the damn photos. I blame the pregnancy brain.

Friday I missed work.  Saturday, Ty took the boys skiing without me while I rested and recovered.

Ty and I had plans set for a kid free Saturday night.  I somehow managed to find some energy to shower and get a little dressed up to go out to dinner and a movie with Ty.  It was our anniversary after all and the flu wasn’t about to stop me from spending some alone time with him – kid free.

It has been nearly a week since the flu hit me and I am not fully recovered.  Having the flu while pregnant has got to be one of the worst experiences of my life. As I sit here, I beg Mother Nature to never give me the flu again – at least while I am pregnant.  I don’t think I could handle it.

Have you ever had the flu while pregnant or known someone who has?

Leave a Reply

